The Masters Tournament – Separating the Good from The Best

Also knows as The Masters or The US Masters, this tournament falls part of the four major championships in professional golf. It is a popular choice for avid sports betting fans.

The Masters is the first of the majors to be played each year, and is scheduled for the first full week of April. This tournament is played at the same location each year, at Augusta National Golf Club, a private club located in the city of Augusta in the USA. It is a favourite amidst American spectators and internationals alike

An image of the master cup 2015 Augusta tournament

Started by Clifford Roberts and Bobby Jones, the Augusta National was designed with the assistance of architect Alister MacKenzie.

The Masters is a money event on the European Tour, the PGA Tour and lastly, the Japan Golf Tour.

The Masters Tournament Traditions

  • A green jacket has been awarded to the winner since 1949.
  • The jacket must be returned to the clubhouse one year later after the victory.
  • The Champions Dinner is held on a Tuesday prior to the tournament and is open to past champions and certain board members of the Augusta National Golf Club, since Ben Hogan inaugurated it in 1952.
  • Since 1963, an honorary tee shot is hit every morning of the first round to commence play by legendary golfers or past champions.

The Masters Tournament Course

Each hole of the plant nursery (gold course) is named after a tree or shrub. Below was the course layout for the 2014 tournament.

1Tea Olive4454
2Pink Dogwood5755
3Flowering Peach3504
4Flowering Crab Apple2403
8Yellow Jasmine5705
9Carolina Cherry4604

an image of the masters cup logo

Type of Bets That Can Be Made on The Master’s Cup

  • Outright Betting
  • Big Guns v The Field
  • Place Only – 5 Places
  • To Finish in the Top 10
  • To Finish in the Top 20
  • Leader After Round 1
  • Top Australian Player
  • Top European Player
  • Top European Player (Excl GB and I)
  • Top English Player
  • Top GB & Ireland Player
  • Top Korean Player
  • Top South African Player
  • Top Rest of World Player
  • Tournament Group Betting
  • Tournament Match Betting
  • 72 Hole Handicap Betting
  • Finishing Position
  • Make/Miss the Cut
  • Tournament Specials
  • 3 Balls
  • Betting W/O
  • Top Asian Player
  • Top Scandinavian Player
  • Top Scottish Player
  • Top South American Player
  • Insurebet – 5 Places
  • Top Irish Player


Winners of The Masters Tournament

share ($
2014Bubba Watson (2) United States Jordan Spieth
Jonas Blixt
2013Adam Scott Australia Ángel Cabrera1,440,000
2012Bubba Watson United States Louis Oosthuizen1,440,000
2011Charl Schwartzel South Africa Jason Day
Adam Scott
2010Phil Mickelson (3) United States Lee Westwood1,350,000
2009Ángel Cabrera Argentina Kenny Perry
Chad Campbell
2008Trevor Immelman South Africa Tiger Woods1,350,000
2007Zach Johnson United States Retief Goosen
Rory Sabbatini
Tiger Woods
2006Phil Mickelson (2) United States Tim Clark1,260,000
2005Tiger Woods (4) United States Chris DiMarco1,260,000
2004Phil Mickelson United States Ernie Els1,117,000
2003Mike Weir Canada Len Mattiace1,080,000
2002Tiger Woods (3) United States Retief Goosen1,008,000
2001Tiger Woods (2) United States David Duval1,008,000
2000Vijay Singh Fiji Ernie Els828,000

Top Casinos to bet on The Masters